Colonial Cooperative Care History

The origins of Colonial Cooperative Care date back to 1978 when a group of physicians formed the New London County Foundation for Health Care.  They believed that the physicians of Eastern Connecticut must have an open dialogue to prepare for the challenge of managed health care coming to the community. 

This small group of physicians has grown to a network of 525 physicians covering all of Eastern Connecticut.  Their commitment has continued throughout the years leading to the formation of Colonial Cooperative Care in 1997.  As the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Colonial, I am pleased at the direction we have taken.  The physicians participate in identifying health care issues and in responding to them with consideration given to the local environment.  Colonial Cooperative Care is actively involved in offering services to the employers of Eastern Connecticut and in making every effort to ensure access, service and quality on behalf of our patients and communities

Board of Directors

From left to right:  Anthony Alessi, M.D., Edward Sawicki, M.D., Sanford Greenhouse, M.D.,  
Peter Gates, M.D.,  Larry Coletti, M.D., Richard Geller, M.D.   

Colonial Cooperative Care Leadership


From left to right: John Moriarty, Dr. Anthony Alessi, Steve Santello

 


Dr. Anthony Alessi
Dr. Alessi is the President and CEO of Colonial Cooperative Care.


John Moriarty

John began working for Colonial Cooperative Care in 1998. John is the Vice President of Operations.


Stephen Santello

Steve began working for Colonial Cooperative Care in 1997. Steve is the Director of Disability.

 

Staff Directory

President & CEO
Anthony G. Alessi
Agalessi@cxcare.com

Vice President, Operations
John Moriarty
JoMoriarty@cxcare.com

Director of Disability & Systems
Steve Santello
Ssantello@cxcare.com

Disability Assistant
Virginia Mogan
VBMogan@cxcare.com

Medical Management
Michelle McLean
MLBrown@cxcare.com

Associate Medical Director
Joseph O’Keefe, MD
JFOKeefe@cxcare.com

Member Services Rep.
Stacy Grillo
SMGrillo@cxcare.com

 

Nurse Reviewer
Tammy Browning
TBrowning@cxcare.com

Nurse Reviewer
Joyce Young
JoYoung@cxcare.com